Planning Commission

The Village Planning Commission consists of nine (9) members, including the Village President, another member of the Village Council selected by the Village Council, and an administrative official of the village selected by the Village President as ex-officio members, and six other persons appointed by the Village President subject to majority approval by the members of the Village Council elected and serving. At least seven members of the Planning Commission shall be qualified electors of the village.

The membership of the Planning Commission shall be representative of the entire geography and important segments of the village such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the village, in accordance with the major interests that exist, such as agriculture, natural resources, recreation, education, public health, government, transportation, industry, and commerce.

The term of each appointed member of the Planning Commission shall be three years or until his or her successor takes office, with all appointments to be dated from May 1 and staggered such that as near as possible to 1/3 of the appointed members terms expire on April 30 of each year.  

The Planning Commission shall have the powers, duties and responsibilities in accordance with any applicable provisions of the Michigan Planning Enabling Act, Public Act 33 of 2008, as amended. The Commission prepares, reviews and updates a Master Plan as a guide for development within the village’s planning jurisdiction.  The Planning Commission also serves as the Village's Zoning Commission pursuant to Section 301 of the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act, Public Act 110 of 2006.

If you are interested in serving on this Commission, please complete an application and return it to the Village Office at 21 E. Church St., Lake Orion, MI 48362.